About Us

Our Mission

The mission of the Yeshiva University Torah Mitzion Kollel of Chicago is to nurture the spiritual growth of the greater Chicago Jewish community. The Kollel is an open community of learning that celebrates three core values:

  • the primacy of Torah,
  • the importance of positive interaction with general society, and
  • culture and the religious significance of the State of Israel.

The YU Torah Mitzion Kollel’s center of learning is its Beit Midrash, where fellows spend their day engaged in intensive study of Talmud, Halacha and Jewish thought. Our Torah and dynamic, talented team of scholars shine throughout Chicago, strengthening shuls and schools and the community at large with a learning portfolio unique in its scope and breadth. We partner with local institutions to provide one–on–one learning opportunities, inspiring youth and teen programs, women’s initiatives, online resources and access to renowned Torah personalities. The YU Torah Mitzion Kollel’s scholars are men and women who share a passion for inspired Jewish living and learning. Since the YU Torah Mitzion Kollel’s founding in 2008, several alumni have taken community positions in rabbinic and lay leadership capacities in Chicago, other U.S. communities and Israel.

Kollel Leadership

Rabbi Reuven Brand

Rosh Kollel

Rabbi Noach Goldstein

Rosh Beit Midrash

Mrs. Emma Katz

NILI Director

Kollel Fellows

Rabbi Yair Lichtman

Kollel Fellow

Rabbi Moshe Spirn

Kollel Fellow

Learning Focus

The YU Torah Mitzion Kollel’s foundation is deeply rooted in the constant growth of our fellows through the intensive study of Torah. Our rabbinic scholars are a source of pride for the Chicago Jewish community.

For the year 5783 (2022 – 2023) the Kollel fellows’ learning schedules include:

  • Morning Seder: Mesechet Yoma, Avodat Yom HaKippurim
  • Afternoon Seder: Hilchot Tefilla
  • Daily Torat Eretz Yisrael Seder
  • Quarterly written exams in Gemara and Halacha

The YU Torah Mitzion Kollel’s commitment to excellence in learning is demonstrated in challenging weekly chaburot delivered by the Rosh Kollel, Rosh Beit Midrash, local Rabbinic leaders, and Roshei Yeshiva from RIETS via video conference. To foster further growth, Kollel fellows also deliver chaburot within the Kollel during the year. The Beit Midrash program is also accredited by RIETS as Kollel residency toward rabbinic ordination for the RIETS Kollel fellows. These rigorous and exceptional standards demonstrate the Kollel’s commitment to a culture of Torah excellence.

Board of Directors


  • Howard Karesh

Board of Trustees

  • Shael Bellows z”l
  • Vivian Bloch
  • David Friedman
  • Eric Rothner
  • Lennie Weiss

Executive Board

  • Jeremy Amster
  • Randy Cohen
  • Michael Glass
  • Laurie Hasten
  • Howard Karesh
  • Jennie Rothner
  • Shmuel Schreiber
  • Richard Silverman

Rabbinic Advisory Committee

  • Rabbi Yaakov Glasser
  • Rabbi Dr. Leonard Matanky
  • Rabbi Yona Reiss
  • Rabbi Gedalia Dov Schwartz zt”l

Board of Directors

  • Jeremy Amster
  • Randy Cohen
  • Dr. Gail Berger Darlow
  • Dr. David Dobkin
  • Aliza Frank
  • Yehudit Gavant
  • Dr. Steve Geller
  • Michael Glass
  • Laurie Hasten
  • Levi Kahn
  • Brian Levinson
  • Josh Lipman
  • Alan Molotsky
  • Jennie Rothner
  • Shmuel Schreiber
  • Richard Silverman
  • Dr. Malka Simkovich
  • Yitzie Sommer
  • Raanana Stein